Connect with us

Buwekula seals semi final berth at the expense of Mawokota


Buwekula seals semi final berth at the expense of Mawokota

By: Sinan Rajub Senoga 

• Buwekula 1-2 Mawokota
(Aggregate 3-2)

Three time champions Mawokota overturned a 2-0 first leg defeat at the hands of Buwekula but fell short of the semi final slot courtesy of an extra time penalty kick.

Coming into the second leg encounter at Kasenyi grounds in Mubende, Mawokota had lost the first leg at their own backyard thanks to a brace from Ivan Bogere.


The game slated for last Sunday was abandoned at halftime due to heavy rains with Mawokota leading 1-0 thanks to an Emmanuel Rubangkene early strike in the second minute.

The final 45 minutes were scheduled to be played in the next 48 hours – Tuesday at 2:00pm to be precise.

Mawokota got the desired goal that tied the duel through Buwekula’s right back Henry Bishop Orom who scored in his own net with 12 minutes left on the clock.

Buwekula had a host of goal scoring chances to boast of but fell short to converting at least one of them. Jamil Nvule Kisitu and Ivan Bogere came close.

Notably, Bogere almost put the game in the hosts’ favour but his effort was cleared off the line by Ratif Kiyemba after he had successfully rounded past the Mawokota goalie.

The final whistle from referee Ali Bakisula meant that the fate of the two sides was destined to be decided by the stipulated 30 extra minutes.

7 minutes into the first period of the final 30, Buwekula got a penalty after Raymond Walugembe was bundled down in pursuit for the decisive goal.

Henry Bishop Orom stepped up to make up for his own goal and flawlessly burried the ball beyond the keeper’s reach to send the Buwekula fans in frenzy.

Buwekula will now face off with Ssingo on Sunday while Busujju will lock horns with 2016 champions Buddu in the confirmed semi final pairings.

Buwekula XI
Ben Sesaazi (GK), Henry Bishop Orom, Sadick Sekyembe, Jonathan Muteesa, Martin Mutyaba, Paul Kato, Livingstone Mbiggo, Jamil Nvule Kisitu, Raymond Walugembe, Dauglous Oree & Ivan Bogere

Mawokota XI
Mutwalib Magoofa (GK), Bobos Byaruhanga, David Okocha, Rashid Ssemwogerere, Ratif Kiyemba, Solomon Waiswa, Emmanuel Rubangkene, Ibrahim Mugulusi, Kennedy Kasozi, Edward Kiryowa & Bashir Basangwa

More in Football

To Top
%d bloggers like this: