Buddu and Ssingo vie for 2018 Masaza Cup Championship


•Masaza Cup finals
•Ssingo Vs Buddu at 3pm
•Third place play off
•Busujju Vs Buwekula at 11am

The 2018 Masaza cup will reach it’s climax tomorrow Saturday 26th October at Mandela National Stadium, Namboole as Buddu and Ssingo face off to determine the winner.

The Kabaka of Buganda Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II will preside over the final match and will officially crown the undisputed champion.

This will be a repeat of 2015 Masaza Cup final where Ssingo emerged 5-0 eventual winners. It was also the first time that the finals were held at Uganda’s football cathedral in Namboole.


Ssingo edged Buwekula 3-1 on aggregate in the semifinals while Buddu beat Busujju 2-0 to book a place in this year’s final.

The fans of the two finalists seek passion as much as silverware. Both sides are not habitual winners like Gomba and Mawokota.

This weekend’s final will be Ssingo’s third in four years, but in total it is their fifth only winning once. Buddu the 2016 champions are also playing their third final in the last four years.

Ssingo’s optimism, charismatic and serial winner head coach Shafiq Bisaso will be seeking for his fourth Masaza Cup trophy having previously won it twice with Gomba (2009 and 2014) and once with Ssingo. Bisaso make his promise to return Ssingo to glory.

This is the fifth time that Bisaso has guided a team to the final (2009, 2014, 2015, 2017 and 2018).
Simon Peter Mugerwa the Buddu tactician will be in search of his first Masaza Cup trophy as head coach.

Jude Semugabi the current leading goalscorer with 8 goals and his goals will be needed to guide Ssingo to coronation. Edward Satro last year’s winning captain with Gomba will also be expected to provide leadership at the heart of defence for Bisaso’s charges.

Custodian Mutumba Adadi, Sebuffu Frank and Senyonga Mikidad will be expected to be productive and help Buddu reach the promised land. Sebuffu has 5 goals in this year’s Masaza edition.

So, will Bisaso’s experience or exuberance win the day? The glory and intrigue of the contest on the other, both might. What is certain is that neither side will seek to simply negate the threat of the other but will trust their own qualities to take them to glory.

That more than anything, offers the potential of a contest befitting the prize on offer.
Gomba are the record champions with four trophies and were last year’s winners defeating Ssingo 1-0 courtesy of a Nicholas Kabonge sole strike.

Buwekula and Busujju will also tussle it out for the third place in the first match and Katikiro Charles Peter Mayiga will be the chief guest.

Match officials for the finals
Referee : Semere Asadu
Assistant Ref 1: Mulindwa Hakim
Assistant Ref 2: Miiro Ashiraf
Fourth official : Mohammed Nasser
Referees’ Assessor : Ronnie Kalema

Third place officials
Referee : Wasswa Uthuman
Assistant Ref 1: Musisi Brianson
Assistant Ref 2 : Zziwa Charles
Fourth Official : Mpiima Fred
Referees’Assessor : Kirumira Festus

Both Referee Wasswa Uthuman and fourth official Mpiima Fred will officially retire after the third place match.

Previous Winners
2004- Gomba
2005- Mawokota
2006- Kooki
2007- Mawokota
2008- Kyaddondo
2009- Gomba
2010- Not held
2011- Bululi
2012- Bulemeezi
2013- Mawokota
2014- Gomba
2015- Ssingo
2016- Buddu
2017- Gomba
2018- ……..

%d bloggers like this: