Bombers set to hunt for first gold at the Commonwealth games since 1990

Bashir Nasir is one of Uganda’s main hope for gold

By: Nacho Black Armo

Uganda will be participating in its 15th time in the Commonwealth games since 1954.

For boxing a lone, the Bombers selected a team of 5 boxers in Ssimbwa Reagan, Bashir Nasir, Ssemuju David, Miro Juma and Shadir Musa to represent in the City of Gold Coast, Australia.

Shadir Musa will captain the Bombers is Queensland

The 5 Bombers under coach Lawrence Kalyango will look at emulating or even out do the 1970 Bombers’ record in Edinburgh when 3 of the Bombers in James Owori, Mohamed Muruli and Benson Mansanda won gold medals.

It was in this same year at the same event that Leo Rwabogo, William Koskei and Deogratias Musoke won silver and this saw the team return with 3 golds and 3 silvers making it the best performance at commonwealth.

Coach Lawrence Kalyango “Lorah will take charge of the team

Over the years boxing has been a dominant sport for Uganda at the Commonwealth games claiming the lion share of success in terms of medals since 1962 in Perth when George Oywelo won Uganda’s and Boxing’s first gold at commonwealth.

Uganda has won a total of 49 medals in all sports disciplines claiming 13 gold, 15 silver and 21 bronze at the Commonwealth with boxing a lone contributing 8 gold and 10 silver.

Uganda Boxing Federation president Moses Muhangi pose for a photo with the team

However, the shortlisted boxers will have a task to end a gold-less streak for boxing at the commonwealth since JustinJuuko and Godfrey Nyakana’s gold successes in 1990.

The Bombers in prayer as they prepare for the games

The Ugandan boxers who have won gold medals at commonwealth,

George Oywello- Heavyweight ( Perth 1962)
James Odwori- Light Flyweight(Edinburgh 1970)
Mohamed Muruli- Light Welterweight (Edinburgh 1970)
Benson Masanda-Heavyweight (Edinburgh 1970)
Mohamed Muruli- Welterweight(Christchurch 1974)
Ayub Kalule-Lightweight(Christchurch 1974) V
Justin Juuko-
Light Flyweight (Auckland 1990)
Gold Godfrey Nyakana-Lightweight (Auckland 1990)

%d bloggers like this: