BIKA FOOTBALL: The 2017 tournament an amelioration

[The 2016 champions Nte Clan]

By: Gombe David

It is one month to the start of the Bika football tournament, Ngeye will face off with Mbogo on the 8th/7/2017 in Kyaggwe in the opening fixture. There are 43 teams out of the expected 54 clans that have confirmed their participation in the this tournament that is based on a knock out basis.

Mmamba Gabunga are the record holders while Nte clan are the defending champions following their 5-4 triumph in spot kicks over Balangira last year in Bugerere in a prestigious closing ceremony that saw the Kabaka Ronald Mwenda Mutebi handing over the shield to the winners. Express FC midfielder Mahad Yaya Kakooza was voted MVP while Striker Umaru Kasumba claimed the golden boot with 13 goals.

Bika football was more competitive in the 80s,90s, mid 90s and early 2000s, but this has recently changed since the tournament has not received the same mileage as it was in the past years.
According to the chairman organising committee, Yusuf Kamulegeya ,

“This year we want to have a great tournament that will bring back the competitiveness and passion that Bika football had in the past years.”

” If we are to have a colourful tournament as Masaza cup,we must work as a unity. Thus call upon everyone to fully support their respective clans in various aspects,” added the chairman.

Unlike the Masaza cup the Bika football tournament does not limit FUFA licensed players from taking part.
This gives football fans a chance to watch their stars play for their respective clans. This also helps players to show their love and respect towards their clans and also their culture.

[MVP 2016 Mahad Yaya Kakooza of Nte]

Players such as Erisa Sekisambu, Hassan Mubiru,Sam Mubiru,Vincent Kayizzi, Yunus Ssentamu,Pius Wangi,Tonny Mawejje, Hassan Wasswa, Andrew Fimbo Mukasa,Yayo Lutimba, Kazibwe Ismail,Simon Sserunkuma, Robert Ssentongo, Geoffrey Sserunkuma, Joseph Mpande, Yaya Mahad Kakooza as well as very many other footballers have all played in the tournament over the years.

First round fixtures
Ndiisa vs Mamba Kakoboza
Mutima Muyanja vs Mamba Gabunga
Kasimba vs Ngo,
Mpindi vs Nobe
Enjovu vs Kinyomo
Nkusu vs Nakinsige
Nvubu vs Nkejje
Nsenene vs KKobe
Ndiga vs Ngonge
Enjaza vs Entalaganya
Mpologoma vs Nkerebwe
Ngabi Nsamba vs Nyonyi Nyange
Ki were vs Nkima
Musu vs Ffumbe
Mpeewo vs Kayozi
Nkula vs Butiko
Mutima Musagi vs Lugave
Mazzi ga Kisasi vs Mbwa.

The past winners:
1950: Mbogo
1951: Ngabi Nsamba
1952: Mmamba Gabunga
1953: Not Held
1954: Not Held
1955: Kkobe
1956: Mmamba Gabunga
1957: Nyonyi Nyange
1958: Ngeye
1959: Mmamba Gabunga
1960: Ffumbe
1961: Bbalangira and Kkobe
1962: Nkima
1963: Not Held
1964: Mmamba Gabunga
1965: Mmamba Gabunga
1987: Ngabi Nsamba
1988: Lugave
1989: Mmamba Gabunga
1990: Lugave
1991: Ngeye
1992: Ngeye
1993: Nkima
1994: Mmamba Gabunga
1995: Lugave
1996: Mpindi
1997: Nnyonyi Nyange
1998: Lugave
1999: Lugave
2000: Mpologoma
2001: Ngo
2002: Mpologoma
2003: Mmamba Gabunga
2004: Lugave
2005: Ffumbe
2006: Mpindi
2007: Ngabi Nsamba and Mpindi
2008: Kkobe
2009: Ffumbe
2010: Nte
2011: Mmamba Gabunga
2012: Ngeye
2013: Ngabi Nsamba
2014: Mmamba Gabunga
2015: Mbogo
2016: Nte


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: