BIKA FOOTBALL 2017: Nte defeat Ffumbe to retain the title

Nte team receiving their crown from Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi. (Courtesy photo)

By: Gladys Zawedde

Nte football club became the first team to win back to back BIKA football titles in 17 years after defeating Ffumbe with a slim 1-0 victory in Bukalasa, Luweero district.

Sofapaka’s marksman Umar Kasumba scored the lone goal in the 20th minute to ensure victory for the Nte team.

It was a game that started on a high note with both teams playing an attacking approach and putting of pressure on the each other.

Ffumbe was forced into an early substitution after skipper Herbert Ntege got injured and was replaced by Abdul Mayanja in the 30th minute.

In the 40th minute KCCA striker Derrick Nsibambi almost equalised for Ffumbe but his header went few inches wide from the goal.

On coming back for the second half, both teams created a host of chances but none could capitalise on them and the 20th minute goal scored by Umar Kasumba was enough for Nte to secure the title on succession.

Earlier on, in the third place play off, Lugave had edged Mpindi 1-0 courtesy of a goal scored by Ibrahim Lubinga to take the third position.

In the BIKA netball finals, Nnyonnyi Nyange emerged as champions after defeating Ngabi Nsamba on a difference of 50-34.

Ffumbe Midfielder Joshua Lubwama Leti was named the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the 2017 Bika football tournament.

Nte coach Deogracious Kasana was over joyed by the special feat achieved by his team, and he promised more success.
He said,

“As I earlier told u in the beginning that we are here to defend the tittle God is good we have made it and am happy about the result. “

“I know my players’ strength and weaknesses that has helped us a lot in defending the tittle, It is not the end as we are not going to relax but look on how to prepare for next year. “he concluded

His opposite number, Edward Golola of ffumbe was not impressed by the poor officiation of referee Rajab Bakasambe,

“I am not impressed by the poor officiation of the referee, my players played well but we were denied three penalties in the play”

This is the third ever title Nte has won after winning last year and in 2010. Nte is the first team to defend the tittle in a period of 17 years after Lugave who last did so in 1999.

Football : Nte
Runners up : Ffumbe
3rd place : Lugave
MVP : Joshua Lubwama Leti (Ffumbe)
Netball : Nnyonyi Nyange

%d bloggers like this: