AUPL : Vipers held by resilient Maroons

By: Swaibu Luyombya

Vipers Sc played to a 1-1 stalemate with Maroons at St. Mary’s Stadium Kitende.

The home side fell behind in the 30th minute when Solomon Walusimbi broke the deadlock for Maroons.

Vipers Sc made an early change with Deus Bukenya paving way for Duncan Sseninde in the 36th minute.
Four minutes later, Yayo Lutimba levelled for the Venoms also helping his side go for halftime break at 1-1.

In the second stanza, Vipers tactician Manuel Da Costa introduced on Steven Mukwala, Baden Mujahid for Erisa Ssekisambu and Moussa Clovis Mbayi to freshen his attack.

His opposite number Asaph Mwebaze also made changes with William Wadri, Junior Amanya, Ronald Kikonyogo making ways for Solomon Ewol, Ronald Kikonyogo and Ivan Wani.

The Kitende based side continued to pile more pressure on the visitors side looking for the second but they couldn’t find a way through a well organized Maroons defence led by the day’s man of the match Sylvester Okello.

By the end of proceedings Vipers and Maroons had to settle for a 1-1 draw.
The result piles pressure on the Vipers Portuguese tactician Jorge Da Costa who has one win in the last 6 games, drawing four and lost once.

Maroons on the other hand their impressive run against the big guns continues, having drawn against Police, URA Fc, Sc Villa, Kcca Fc and now Vipers. Their only loss of the top teams in the 6 encounters was the 2-0 at Express Fc.

The draw sees Vipers Sc move to fifth place on 17 points from 10 games while Maroons are 7th on the log with 15 points in 11 games.

Vipers Sc next fixture is a trip to fellow title rivals Kcca Fc at Startimes Stadium Lugogo on Tuesday while the prisons side will play Mbarara City at home.

Vipers XI vs Maroons

Ismael Watenga (GK), Nicholas Wadada, Yayo Lutimba, Shafik Bakaki, Geofrey Wasswa, Deus Bukenya, Moses Waiswa, Milton Karisa, Brian Nkuubi, Erisa Sekisambu , Mbayi Clovis

James Alitho (GK), Dan Birikwalira, Mujahid Baden, Frank Tumwesigye, Steven Mukwala, Duncan Sseninde ,Tadeo Lwanga

Maroons XI vs Vipers

Ashadu Bugembe (GK), Eddy kapampa, Daniel Kitagenda, Sylvester Okello, Okello Maxwell, Ronald Orombi, Junior Amanya, Pius Obuya, Solomon Walusimbi, William Wadri, Abdallah Senyonga

Eric Dhaira (GK), Samson Mutyaba, Ronald Muganga, Ronald kikonyogo, Ivan Wani, Batte wasswa, Solomon Ewol

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: