AUPL: Soana FC edge Masavu FC to earn their first win of the season.

By: Gladys Zawedde

Soana FC defeated newly promoted side Masavu FC 1-0 in a much contested encounter at Kavumba recreation grounds.

Midfielder Emmanuel Kalyowa scored from the spot kick 12 minutes from full time to hand Shafik Bisaso and his men their first win of the season.

The game seemed destined for a stalemate until in the 77th minute when Masavu defender Sulaiman Ochero fouled Emma Kalyowa in the eighteen yards box leading to a Soana penalty.

Masavu FC players led by their skipper and goalkeeper Mansoor Mutumba were not line with the decision made by the referee Opio Titus and they threatened to walk off the pitch. However, their coach Alex Gitta calmed them and told them go back.

After the situation returning to normal, Emma Kalyowa stepped up to calmly convert the penalty to give Soana the lead.

Masavu FC tried to level matters in the dying minutes of the game through second half substitute Ddumba Sadala but they were unsuccessful.

Alex Gitta the Masavu tactician expressed his discontentment with the officiation. He said,

” I don’t know where we are going with this kind of officiation. Honestly we were denied a open penalty, a one on one and then a foul and then he waved away. I am not a referee but that was a clear penalty.

However, Gitta remains optimistic with his side,

“Its not a misfortune that we started our season this way, honestly this was our second game physically. we created a number of chances and we were optimistic of winning it. The league is not a sprint but a marathon, we have to travel until June 2018 so we just have to rectify some few things.”

Soana XI

Meddie Kibirige (GK), Siraje Turyamuhebwa, Dalausi Kiwalabye, Ibrahim Kizza, Mike Kawooya, Abudallah Nyanzi, Muwada Mawejje, Osman Wejjuli, Emmanuel Kalyowa, Anthony Bongole, Baker Lukooya.

Joel Mutakubwa (GK), Timothy Musinguzi, Eddie Ruhweza, Owen Kasule, Allan Kayiwa, Baker Buyala, John Muwanguzi.

Masavu FC XI
Mansoor Mutumba (GK), Philly Lutaaya, Sulaiman Ochero, Ibrahim Pengere, Sande Mukiibi, Sulaiman Mutah, Veron Ddamba, Onesmus Andama, Abraham Ndugwa, Ivan Lubale, Fred Omony.

Ali Kiggundu (GK), Lawrence Bakilanze, Ibrahim Magada, Jonathan Katende, Robert Ssentongo Junior, Peter Lumolo, Ddumba Sadala.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: