All is Set for Airtel Masaza Cup 2017



By: Sinan Rajub Senoga

Defending champions Buddu will kick start this year’s Airtel Masaza cup with neighbours Mawogola at the Masaka Recreation ground tomorrow.
This is the third time Buddu is playing in the opener and second consecutively. Last year Buddu beat Kabula 2-1 with URA’s striker Robert Mukonghotya scoring the first goal of the tournament.

All preparations have been finalised and the Kabaka of Buganda Ronald Muwenda Mutebi will grace the opening ceremony.

According to the spokesperson of the Masaza Cup committee Faridah Bongole, gates will be opened at 10:00am. 2:30pm will be the arrival of Buganda Premier Charles Peter Mayiga while at 2:40pm the Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi will arrive at the stadium.

The Kabaka will officially open the tournament buy greeting both teams and the sponsors. At exactly 3:00pm, the match will kick off.

CBS Radio, Peacock Paintings proprietor Kaddu Kiberu and Utoda Cooperation led by Hajji Musa Katongole revived the Masaza Cup tournament in 2004 with all the counties in Buganda Kingdom taking part.
A committee led by Hajji Abbas Kawase, Charles Masembe and the late Andrew Patrick Luwandaga organized the first ever edition.
The opening match saw Buddu thump Mawogola 6-1 and Gomba winning the first title with a 3-0 over Mawogola.

From 2004, 12 successful editions out the possible 13 have been witnessed with the 2010 edition not held. This will be the first edition sponsored by telecommunication company Airtel. Gomba and Mawokota are record champions with 3 titles each. Just like the UEFA champions league, No team has ever won the Masaza Cup back to back.
This prestigious tournament has given rise to many stars like Tony Mawejje, Diego Hamis Kiiza, Mike Serumaga, Emmanuel Okwi, Brian Umony, Robert Odongkara, Joseph Ochaya, Godfrey Walusimbi, Miya Farouk among others.

Rajab Bakasambe has been named center referee and will assisted by Masembe Isa, Kiwanuka Fred and Waswa Charles as the fourth official.

Buddu coach Steven Bogere will rely on last year’s MVP Serubiri Ivan, Mikidad Ssenyonga, Ntege Mark, Kato Umaru, Kazibwe Julius, Muwawu Steven and Kasozi Kennedy from St Mary’s Kitende.

Various teams have prepared well for the tournament with heavy recruitments from the technical bench to the players. Ssingo has coach Shafiq Bisaso, Buwekula hired Allan Kabonge, Kyadondo acquired coach Charles Ayeko and Busiro is under coach Swalihi Kamya among others promising a very interesting and Competitive tournament.

There are eight fixtures are on card this weekend
13th MAY Saturday
1.Buddu vs Mawogola (Masaka recreation ground)
14th MAY Sunday
2.Kkooki vs Kabula (Lwanda)
3.Mawokota vs Butambala (Buwama)
4.Busiro vs Buvuma (Sentema)
5.Buwekula vs Gomba (Kasenyi)
6.Busujju vs singo (Kimuli)
7.Bugerere vs Kyaggwe (Kayunga Sazza ground)
8.Buruli vs Bulemeezi (UMEA Mijeera)

2004 Gomba
2005 Mawokota
2006 Kkoki
2007 Mawokota
2008 Kyaddondo
2008 Gomba
2010 –
2011 Buruli
2012 Bulemeezi
2013 Mawokota
2014 Gomba
2015 Ssingo
2016 Buddu

Who will win this year’s crown?


%d bloggers like this: