Al Ahly trash 10-man Kaizer Chiefs to win 10th Champions League title


Al Ahly won their 10th CAF Champions League title after beating Kaizer Chiefs 3-0 in the final played at the Complexe Mohamed V in Casablanca, Morocco.

Kaizer Chiefs were dealt huge blow when youngster Happy Mashiane was sent off after a VAR review following his reckless challenge on Akram Tawfik at the stroke of halftime.

Al Ahly capitalized on the numerical advantage and scored three goals in the second half.

Mohamed Sherif broke the deadlock with his sixth goal of the campaign after receiving a long ball from Tawfik in the 56th minute.

Sherif turned provider for Mohamed Magdi Afsha who made it to 2-0 on 63 minutes with a sublime strike past goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi.

Sherif and Magdi Afsha celebrate

Amr Al Sulaya put the icing on the cake with the third goal. Sherif set him up for a curler at the edge of the box in the 72nd minute.

The title was Pitso Mosimane’s third as a coach having won one with Sundowns in 2016 and the second one with Al Ahly last year.

Al Ahly have won CAF Champions League more than any side. They have previously won in 1982, 1987, 2001, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2012, 2013 and 2020.

How the two sides lined up:

Kaizer Chiefs: Daniel Akpeyi (GK), Reeve Frosler, Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Eric Mathoho, Daniel Cardoso, Willard Katsande, Njabulo Blom, Nkosingiphile Ngcobo, Happy Mashiane, Bernard Parker, Samir Nurkovic

Al Ahly: Mohamed El Shenawy (GK), Ali Maaloul, Ayman Ashraf, Badr Benoun, Akram Tawfik, Hamdi Fathi, Amir Al Sulayah, Hussein El Shahat, Mohamed Magdi Afsha, Taher, Mohamed Sherif.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: