Al Ahly, Sundowns to face off again in Champions League

The group stage games will officially start in February next year.


Current holders and record winners champions Al Ahly will face off with South African giants Mamelodi Sundowns once again following the CAF Champions League group stage draw held in Cairo.

The two sides are pitted in Group A alongside Sudanese rivals Al Hilal Omdurman and El Merreikh.

This will be the fourth consecutive time Al Ahly and the Masandawana are facing off in the Champions League.

The past three seasons, the two sides have clashed on the quarter final stage of the competition.

The duel will also pit Al Ahly coach Pitso Mosimane against his former side which is currently captained by former Cranes captain and skipper Dennis Onyango.

Group B of the competition has Raja Casablanca pitted against Algeria’s ES Setif, Horoya of Guinea and Bennie McCarthy’s coached AmaZulu who are making their first appearance.

Tunisian giants Esperance de Tunis and Etoile de Sahel are in Group C alongside Algeria’s CR Belouizdad and Botswana’s Gwaneng Galaxy who are also making their debut in the group stages.

Group D has Zamalek and Wydad Casablanca pitted against Angolan sides Petro de Atletico Luanda and Sagrada Esperança.

The draws of the CAF Confederation Cup were also held on the same event in Cairo.

CAF Champions League Groups

• Group A

Al Ahly SC (Egypt), Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), Al Hilal Omdurman (Sudan), El Merreikh (Sudan)

• Group B

Raja Club Athletic (Morocco), Horoya AC (Guinea), ES Setif (Algeria), AmaZulu FC (South Africa)

• Group C

Espérance Tunis (Tunisia), Etoile Sahel (Tunisia), CR Belouizdad (Algeria), Jwaneng Galaxy (Botswana)

Group D

• Wydad AC Casablanca (Morocco), Zamalek SC (Egypt), Petro Atletico (Angola), Sagrada Esperança (Angola)

CAF Confederation Cup Groups

• Group A

Pyramids FC (Egypt), CS Sfaxien (Tunisia), Zanaco FC (Zambia), Ahli Tripoli (Libya)

• Group B

JS Kabylie /Royal Leopards, Orlando Pirates (South Africa), JS Saoura (Algeria), Al Ittihad SC (Libya)

• Group C

TP Mazembe (DR Congo), Cotonsport FC (Cameroon), Al Masry SC (Egypt), AS Otoho d’Oyo (Congo Brazzaville)

• Group D

RS Berkane (Morocco), Simba SC (Tanzania), ASEC Mimosas (Ivory Coast), US Gendarmerie (Niger)

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: