Airtel injects 100m in FUFA Awards


On Wednesday Morning, the 2019 Airtel FUFA Awards were launched at Serena Hotel in Kampala.

The function was graced by acting FUFA President Justus Mugisha, Head of Brand and communications Airtel Uganda Remmie Kisakye, Noel Byuma the Brand Strategy manager Airtel and Chairman Airtel FUFA organizing Committee Rogers Byamukama.

Cranes head coach Jonathan Mckinstry, KCCA FC’s Mike Mutebi and Douglas Bamweyana of Maroons FC also attended the function.

Airtel Uganda injected 100 million in the event that will see the most outstanding players, coaches, individuals and teams presented with accoladed at the Airtel FUFA awards ceremony on 14th December at Speke Resort Munyonyo.

Kisakye while addressing the press, expressed Airtel’s commitment towards football development and nurturing talents from grassroots. She also urged the organizers about transparency

“As Airtel Uganda, we pride in football development, nurturing talents from grassroot level and reaffirm our commitment to Uganda’s football.”

In a bid to promote sanctity, the awards’ organisers have come out to change the voting criteria.”

Each of the coaches and captain of the Uganda Premier league clubs nominated their best five candidates for the FUFA male player of the year while coaches from the FUFA women elite league nominated the female best performers.

There will be second round voting by coaches and captains for Male and Female player of the year. Public Voting will get underway after release of the final top 5 male and female player of the year on 14th November until 14th December.

Airtel FUFA Male Player of the Year nominees

Shafiq Kagimu (URA), Saidi Kyeyune (URA), Mike Mutyaba (KCCA), Viane Ssekajjugo (Wakiso Giants), Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume), Bashir Mutanda (SC Villa), Joel Madondo (Busoga United), Daniel Sserunkuma (Vipers), Allan Okello (KCCA), Paul Mucureezi (Mbarara City), Deogratious Ojok (BUL), Bright Anukani (Proline), Hillary Mukundane (Mbarara City), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA), Allan Kayiwa (Vipers), Ivan Bogere (Proline).

*Nominees For Female Player of the Year:

Juliet Nalukenge (Kawempe Muslim), Fauzia Najjemba (Isra Soccer Academy), Hasifah Nassuna (UCU Lady Cardinals), Daisy Nakaziro (Lady Doves), Amina Nababi (Makerere WFC), Lilian Mutuuzo (Kampala Queens), Ruth Aturo (UCU Lady Cardinals), Leticia Nabbosa (Lady Doves), Margret Kunihira (Kawempe Muslim), Shadia Nankya (Uganda Martyrs), Shamirah Nalujja (ISRA Soccer Academy), Maureen Kinavudori (UCU Lady Cardinals).

Nominees for Airtel FUFA Team fans of the year
SC Villa fans, Onduparaka Fans, KCCA Fans, KCCA Fans, Tooro United fans, West Nile Province fans, Acholi Province fans, Lango Province fans, Bunyoro province fans.

Full list of of the 2019 Airtel FUFA awards categories:

Male player of the year
Female player of the year
Best XI (men)
Best XI (women) – New
Coach of the year
Women coach of the year – New
Presidential award
Fair play award
Upcoming Talent Award
Beach Soccer Player of the year
Fans’ favourite Uganda foreign-based player
Best Squad (club/national team) of a particular year – New
Member Associations’ Award
Fans of the year (FUFA competition) – New

%d bloggers like this: