AFCON U-20 : Uganda Hippos beat hosts to qualify for the quarter finals



Second half goals from Steven Sserwadda and substitute Derrick Kakooza against the hosts ensured Uganda Hippos seal qualification to the quarter finals of the Total U-20 African Cup of Nations.

The resilient Ugandans fought from a goal down to progress past the home side with the decider coming just moments to stoppage time.

Mauritania scored a first half goal through Silly Sanghare from a penalty spot in the 39th minute to ensure an early lead for the host Nation.

Mauritania’s penalty was awarded after defender Azizi Kayondo brought down Oumar Mbareck in the forbidden area Five minutes to half time.

Kakooza celebrates Uganda’s winner

Morley Byekwaso’s charges fought back in the second half with KCCA youngster Steven Sserwadda sloting home an equaliser only 14 minutes into the second half.

The KCCA offensive midfielder capitalised on Sam Ssenyonjo’s assist to level matters for Ugandan.

Forward Derrick Kakooza scored a late penalty after coming on to replace Najib Yiga in the 79th minutes.

The penalty was awarded after defender Mohamed Sarr handed the ball in the goal area after a well taken corner kick from Azizi Kayondo.

Ivan Asaba was a thorne in the feet of Mauritania.

Kayondo was also awarded with a Man Of The Match prize for his spectacular performance.

Yiga had been introduced 5 minutes earlier to replace Ivan Asaba but the coach opted to replace him as well.

Uganda Hippos now qualify to the quarter finals as second placed having collected 6 points from the 3 Group A outings.

Being second in the group, Uganda will wait for the group leader of Group B who is expected to be either Tunisia or Burkina Faso for the quarter final tie.

West African Giants Cameron lead the group with 9 points. Other group members are Mauritania (3 points) and Mozambique (0 points).

The Hippos line up for the decisive match (Courtesy of FUFA media)

Line ups:

Uganda Hippos:
Jack Komakech(Goalkeeper), Azizi Kayondo, Musa Ramathan, Gavin Kizito, Kenneth Ssemakula, Steven Sserwadda, Isma Mugulusi, Ivan Asaba, Richard Basangwa, Baboosi Byaruhanga, Samuel Ssenyonjo.

Mauritania U-20:
Mohamed ElMokhtar (GK), Mohamed Sarr, Mohamed Ahmed, Abderahmane Chighaly, Oumar Mbareck, Mohamed Diop, Bilal El Mohkhtar, Adama Diop, Silly Sanghare, Ahou Diallo,Amar Haidara.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: