AFCON 2019: Zimbabwe reveal provisional squad


A list of 30 players has been revealed making up Zimbabwe’s provisional squad for the AFCON in Egypt as well as the 2019 COSAFA tournament.

Zimbabwe’s head coach Sunday Chidzambga will split the squad into two with one going to Egypt and the other taking part in the COSAFA tourney in Durban, South Africa.

The COSAFA tournament will kick off towards the end of this month while the AFCON finals will start on June 12th.

Khama Billiat, Knowledge Musona and Nyasha Mushekwi are the players expected to inspire the Warriors in their fourth ever AFCON tournament.

Leyton Orient striker Macaulay Bonne will have to wait for clearance from the Zimbabwe embassy in England to see that he takes part in the continental showpiece.

Zimbabwe is grouped in Group A alongside Uganda, Egypt and Democratic Republic of Congo.

The Warriors will open up the tournament against the hosts Egypt on June 12th.

The team will also face Nigeria, Ghana and Morocco in the pre-tournament friendlies.

George Chigova (Polokwane City, South Africa), Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka FC, South Africa), Edmore Sibanda (Witbank Spurs, South Africa), Talbert Shumba (Chapungu, Zimbabwe)

Dennis Dauda (Lusaka Dynamos, Zambia), Lawrence Mhlanga (FC Platinum, Zimbabwe), James Dzingai (Power Dynamos, Zimbabwe), Byron Madzokere (Yadah Stars, Zimbabwe), Alec Mudimu (CEFN Druids, Wales), Devine Lunga (Golden Arrows, South Africa), Teenage Hadebe (Kaizer Chiefs), Ronald Pfumbidzai (Bloemfontein Celtic, South Africa), Tendayi Darikwa (Nottingham Forest, England)

Danny Phiri (Golden Arrows, South Africa) , Marhsall Munetsi (Orlando Pirates, South Africa) , Marvelous Nakamba (Club Brugge, Belgium) , Butholezwe Ncube (Amazulu, South Africa), Tafadzwa Kutinyu (Azam FC, Tanzania), Ovidy Karuru (Amazulu, South Africa), Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Kudakwashe Mahachi (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), Tafadzwa Rusike (Zanaco, Zambia), Richard Hachiro (Herentals, Zimbabwe), Talent Chawapihwa (Amazulu, South Africa), Leroy Mavunga (Yadah Stars, Zimbabwe), Knowledge Musona (Anderlecht, Belgium), Thabani Kamusoko (Young Africans, Tanzania), Rodwell Chinyengetere (Baroka FC, South Africa)

Nyasha Mushekwi (Dalian Yifang, China), Evans Rusike (Supersport United, South Africa), Admiral Muskwe (Leicester City, England), Walter Musona (Polokwane City, South Africa), Tinotenda Kadewere (Le Harve, France), Knox Mutizwa (Golden Arrows, South Africa)

%d bloggers like this: