AFCON 2019: Uganda drawn against hosts Egypt in Group A

Fufa Media


Uganda has been pitted against hosts Egypt in the Group A of the AFCON 2019 tournament.

The development was confirmed on the ceremony held in Giza, Egypt on Friday night.

The Cranes will also face D.R Congo and Zimbabwe’s Warriors as other opponents.

Uganda will be locking horns with Egypt once again after facing off in the previous edition in Gabon.

Elsewhere, Nigeria has been drawn against Guinea and debutants Madagascar and Burundi in Group B.

Group C has Senegal, Algeria and East African neighbors Kenya and Tanzania.

Group D consists of Morocco, Ivory Coast, South Africa and Namibia.

2004 winners Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania and Angola have been drawn in Group E.

Defending champions Cameroon will play against Ghana, Benin and Guinea Bissau.

This will be the first time to have 24 teams featuring in the AFCON final tournament. The top two teams in each group will qualify for the last 16’s stage together with four best third placed nations.

A: Egypt, DR Congo, Uganda, Zimbabwe
B: Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi
C: Senegal, Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania
D: Morocco, Cote D’Voire, South Africa, Namibia
E: Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Angola
F: Cameroon, Ghana, Benin, Guinea Bissau

%d bloggers like this: