AFCON 2019 Qualifiers : Eight more nations seal slots in the finals


Round five of the 2019 AFCON Qualifiers saw Uganda Cranes book a berth in the final tournament after a 1-0 win over Cape Verde thanks to Patrick Kaddu.

As Uganda joined Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal, Madagascar and hosts Cameroon as teams who have already guaranteed a place in the finals, 7 more nations also qualified to take the tally to 13.

The seven are Mali, Morocco, Nigeria, Algeria, Guinea, Ivory Coast and debutants Mauritania.

Herve Renard’s Morocco defeated Cameroon 2-0 courtesy of Karim Ziyech brace and their would be close opponents Malawi lost to Comoros in Group B.

Group A is also sorted as Senegal and second placed Madagascar already ensured qualification last month.

In Group C, East African neighbours Burundi are on the verge of qualification at the expense of Gabon since Mali already tops the table.

Riyad Mahrez inspired Algeria to a 4-1 victory over Togo in Lome to win Group D with a game to spare.

The Super Eagles of Nigeria overcame match day one defeat to South Africa to clinch qualification ahead of South Africa and Libya in Group E.

Group F is still undecided as Kenya, Ghana and Ethiopia await for a final decision about their Sierra Leone opponents.

A 1-1 draw between Guinea and Ivory Coast in Conakry on Sunday ensured slots in the finals for the two nations from Group H.

Mauritania will play in the final tournament for the first time after defeating lowly placed Botswana 2-1 to maintain a lead on the Group I table with 12 points and a game to go.

Group J was already decided as Egypt and Tunisia qualified last month.

Another open group is Group K that pits Mozambique, Namibia and Guinea Bissau with a chance to qualify while 2012 champions agonizingly saw exit after losing to Mozambique on Sunday.

Lesotho, Tanzania and Cape Verde will have to fight for the last coveted slot in Group L from which Uganda qualified from with 13 points from 5 games.

The final round of the qualifiers will take place in March next year ahead of the final tournament slated for June in Cameroon.

Qualified Nations
• Cameroon (Hosts)
• Morocco
• Egypt
• Tunisia
• Madagascar
• Senegal
• Uganda
• Guinea
• Ivory Coast
• Mauritania
• Mali
• Nigeria
• Algeria

%d bloggers like this: