5 Man short list for the BBC African player of the year revealed

Image produced by the BBC to showcase the shortlist

By: Danito Nsubuga 

The short list for the BBC African footballer of the year has been revealed during a special live launch broadcast in the UK London.

The broadcast which also saw Ugandan female footballer Jean Seninde join a panel of experts to discuss the nominees came revealed a short list of 5 men from whom the winner will be voted.

The list includes Gabon’s Pierre Emerick Aubameyang of Borrusia Dortmund in German, Senegal’s Sadio Mane who features for Liverpool in England, Nigeria and Chelsea’s Victor Moses and Guinea’s Naby Keita who features for RB Leipzig in Germany.

Last year’s winner Riyad Mahrez fails to make the shortlist this time whereas Pierre Emerick Aubameyang and Sadio Mane bounce back to challenge. It will be the first time for Mohammed Salah and Victor Moses.

The winner of this year’s award will be announced on Monday 11 December live on BBC World TV and BBC World Service Radio.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: