21 new players named in Express FC 2017-18 season squad.

Hon. Nakiwala Kiyingi poses for a group photo with the new Express squad. 


Express FC has revealed its final squad to be used in the forthcoming Azam Uganda Premier League season which kicks off tomorrow. The 6 time league champions unveiled a 30 man squad today at the club offices in Mutundwe.

The squad includes 21 new players and 9 old ones with notable faces being Steven Bengo, Daniel Muzeyi Serunkuma and Michael Birungi. 3 of the players unveiled are foreign exports and include left back Promise Mkpene, James Ago both from Nigeria and Kenyan custodian Geoffrey Atel while one player (Jose Maria) has been hindered by ITC clearances from Sweden.

The squad consists of only 9 old players and these include Sam Senkoomi, Remmy Makumbi, Luswata Steven, Nsubuga Rashid, Ssebaduka Juma, Jjingo Sulaiman, Semujju Joseph, Sharif Muhammad Ochaya and Opio Emmanuel.

The club chairperson, Florence Nakiwala Kiyingi welcomed the players and tasked them to play to the expectations of Express.

“As we usher in a new season, I hereby present to new our players to be used. We have gathered quality players in order to uplift Express as a club. I welcome all the new players to the biggest, the oldest and living football club in Uganda Express fc.”

Defender Samuel Senkoomi was named club captain and will be deputised by former Vipers midfielder Steven Luswata.

Administratively, Jjuko Sulaiman Walugembe has been appointed the new Chief Executive Officer (CEO) replacing Ivan Kintu Barigye who threw in the towel.

However, Express FC is yet to appoint the new coach following the resignation of Mattia Lule and his assistants. Currently, the club is temporarily under former player Edward Kalungi who is assisted by Hassan Mubiru and Sam Kawalya.

Express will open up this season with a home duel against Kirinya Jinja SS at Wankulukuku on Wednesday 13th September.

The squad
Geoffrey Agonya Atel, Buule Edwin Kiwanuka, Kyamera Tony, Emmanuel Opio.

The rest of the squad
Sam Senkoomi (Captain), Katende Isaac, Remmy Makumbi, Promise Mkpene, Othieno Deogracious, Agele Bernard, Luswata Steven, Hitimana Omar, Nsubuga Rashid, Ssebaduka Juma, Kasule Abdul Karim, Jjingo Sulaiman Kirumira, Semujju Joseph, Sharif Muhammad Ochaya, Kasule Abubakar Muhammad, Nsubuga Mubarak, Mutebi Peter, James Easther Ago, Kisakye John Wesley, Bengo Steven, Ssekayombya, Dan Muzeeyi Serunkuma, Nsubuga Badru, Birungi Komunda Michael, Galiwango Sam, Kyamera Tony and Jose Maria.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: