2019 edition of Copa Coca-Cola National Schools Championship launched


The 27th Edition of the Copa Coca-Cola National Schools Championship has officially been launched at Wakissha Resource center, Wakiso. This will however be the 26th edition with Coca-Cola as the main sponsors.

This year the event is slated to take place kick off on 4th May and will be hosted by Jinja College in Jinja District. Buddo SS are the reigning champions.

Over 60 schools will participate in the competition. Maggie Kigozi the brand Manager Coca-Cola in Uganda expects a great football tournament and has urged schools to always support the company

“We expect a great football tournament as we launch the new stars in our country. In this year’s edition Coca-Cola shall give out bursaries, make refurbishments on football pitches and many other prizes to the schools that will have many numbers of recycled bottles.

I call upon the all the Schools who will take part to support the company and I wish them a great football competition.”

The acting general secretary National Council for Sports Patrick Bernard Ogwel thanked Coca-Cola for the support rendered to the competition

“I congratulate Coca-Cola for supporting the tournament for all the past years and I call upon the Schools to also support the company.

This is a great tournament and I assure everyone that the government shall also continue to give a hand.” Said Ogwel.

Mathias Isabirye the headmaster of the hosting school gave assurance that his school is ready to host and thanked the organising committee for the opportunity

“We thank the organising committee of the Copa Coca-Cola schools competition for the opportunity rendered to us. We are very prepared and we are looking forward at hosting a great football competition.”

Jinja will be hosting the showpiece for the third time in history however Masaka district has hosted more times (four) than any other district.

The competition has launched football stars like Vincent Kayizzi, Sulaiman Tenywa, Mike Sulaiman Mutyaba, Jackson Mayanja, Faruku Miya, Ismail Watenga, Dan Birikwalira, Timothy Awanyi, Allan Okello, Julius Poloto, David Obua among others.

%d bloggers like this: