10-man Masavu fight back to hold BUL FC.

Masavu FC (Photo courtesy KCCA FC Media)

By: Gladys Zawedde 

James Kasibante’s equaliser in the 85th minute helped 10-man Masavu salvage a point off BUL FC which had already taken the lead through Richard Wandyaka in the 25th minute.

Richard Wandyaka gave BUL FC the lead in the 25th minute finishing capitalizing on a lapse in Masavu defense in a goal mouth scramble.

Masavu FC looked to have lost it all after conceding as BUL FC’s Douglas Owori and Hamis Tibita remained a threat through failed to find a breakthrough till the end of the first half.

On coming back in the second half BUL looked a better side dominating possession as Masavu FC looked shaky most of the time. BUL FC continued to press but their efforts yielded no results.

Matters worsened for the visitors in the 61st minute when defender Moses Kiggundu was shown matching orders after a foul play on Faisal Muledhu.

BUL FC seemed destined to walk away with the 3 points but substitute James Kasibante equalised in the 85th minute through a would be cross as the BUL FC defense thought that Arthur Ssemazzi was offside.

Masavu FC tactician Joseph Mutyaba was so impressed by the fighting spirit shown by his players despite being one man less,

“It has not been as easy game as both sides needed the three points badly am greatly impressed by the fighting spirit shown by my players a point away from home is always good and I believe we are to build on that as we face our opponent.”

A point moves BUL FC from 11th to 10th as Masavu FC still remains in the relegation zone on 18 points in the 15th position on the log of 16.

BUL FC will host Proline FC on 9th March as Masavu will also be welcoming Bright Stars on the same date .


Hannington Ssebwalunyo (GK), Umar Mukobe ,Faisal Muledhu, William Otongo, Yusuf Mukisa, Patrick Sembuya, Daniel Shabena, Richard Wandyaka, Douglas Owori, James Otim, Hamis Tibita.

Jeff Atiel (GK), Crespo Asiku , Shaka Ssozi, Aziz Kemba, Hakim Magombe, Charles Tibingana, Jean Pierre

Masavu XI

Salim Wekiya (GK), Sande Mukiibi, Ibrahim Pengere, Benjamin Nyakojo, Moses Kiggundu, Sulaiman Ochero, Charles Wamala, Simon Namwanja, Abraham Ndugwa (C), Godfrey Wasswa, Arthur Ssemazzi.

Hussein Mulawa (GK), James Kasibante, Patrick Ssenfuka, Jonathan Katende, Michael Otimong.

Other results

UPDF 1-0 Mbarara City
Bright stars 1-1 SC Villa
Kirinya JSS 1-0 Onduparaka
BUL 1-1 Masavu
URA 2-0 Police

%d bloggers like this: