Vipers declared champions as Tooro, Proline suffer relegation


Vipers SC have been declared Uganda Premier League Champions while Maroons FC, Proline FC and Tooro United are relegated following the curtailment of the 2019/20 campaign.

The Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) President Moses Magogo announced a decision that was widely expected after 75% of the season had been played when sports activities in Uganda were halted because of the Coronavirus pandemic.

” Our season ends on 30th June but from the latest communication of the President of Uganda, Sports is not one of the activities to be opened soon.”

“Vipers are declared the champions of the UPL. Maroons, Tooro United and Proline are sportingly eligible to apply for the club licensing of the 2020/21 Big League season.” Magogo stated.

Vipers will now celebrate another league triumph as they were four points clear of KCCA FC having garnered 54 points this season.

This is the four time the Kitende based side has won the championship, they had previously won the in 2009/10, 2014/15 and 2017/18.

They will represent Uganda in the CAF Champions League and KCCA will represent in the CAF Confederation Cup.

%d bloggers like this: