Connect with us

UPDF’s road to redemption boosted by hard earned point at Bright stars


UPDF’s road to redemption boosted by hard earned point at Bright stars

By: Gladys Zawedde

It all ended in a barren stalemate as Bright Stars hosted relegation threatened UPDF FC at Champions Stadium Mwererwe.

Both teams played more of a defending first half creating no notable chances that could yield results or lead to a break through.

UPDF defenders Emmanuel Egau, Johnson Lumansi, Joseph Othieno commanded by skipper Denis Ssekitoleko looked so organised that couldn’t give Bright Stars skipper and the League’s leading top scorer Nelson Senkatuka chance to penetrate through.

In the 70th minute Nelson Senkatuka managed to penetrate through by beating the defeating but his effort just hit the post and cleared by the UPDF FC defenders.

Five minutes later Joseph Jjanjali created a chance that could have put UPDF FC in the lead but Sam Sekitto and Akram Kakembo denied him chance.

In the 80th minute Steven Bogere made a double substitution introducing Robert Nakyenalire for Allan Kizza and Abdulnoor Lukwata for Mustapha Kasolo respectively this could have come to cool the pressure of the game.

Allan Kiiza was booked in the first half, for the only card of the entire game.

A win has not helped either sides change positions but increase on points Bright Stars still remains seventh
33 points as UPDF eleventh with 29 points.

UPDF will play SC Villa on Saturday 6th May home at Army Grounds Bombo in the next fixture as Bright Stars will visit Maroons on Friday 4th May .

Bright stars XI

Wagima Benson (GK), Andrew Kaggwa, Sam Sekitto, Faruku Katongole, Akram Kakembo, Enoch Walusimbi, Sulaiman Sebbunza, Brian Enzama, Kiwanuka, Mahad Kisekka, Nelson Senkatuka(Capt).

Hamza Muwonge(GK), H. Sekitto, Victor Aweko, Remex Kasozi, Kokas Opejo, Kakooza, Joshua Kawadwa.


Bashir Sekagya (GK), Emmanuel Egau, Johnson Lumansi, Joseph Othieno, Denis Sekitoleko (C), Faizal Kiberu, Mustapha Dongo, Allan Kizza, Mustapha Kasolo, Joseph Janjali, Ezekiel Katende

Joseph Yiga (GK), Robert Nakyenalire, Abdulnoor Lukwata, Titus Lubega, Walter Bankene, Julius Kisambira.

More in Football

To Top
%d bloggers like this: