New Buganda Cycling committee unveiled


A new Buganda Cycling Committee has been unveiled on Wednesday, 11th November, 2020 at Bulange, Mengo in Kampala.

The function was graced by the Speaker of Buganda Lukiiko Owek.Patrick Luwagga Mugumbule, Buganda Kingdom minister of Sports, Leisure and recreation Owek.Henry Ssekabembe Kiberu and the President of the Uganda Cycling Association Sam Muwonge Mahaba.

Riders showing their potential at Bulange (Photo by David Isabirye)

Mathias Lukwago has been appointed as the new chairperson of the Buganda Cycling Committee replacing Hajji Bruhan Ssekibenga.

Lukwago expressed his delight upon the appointment

“I am extremely delighted that have been appointed as the new chairman of the Buganda Cycling Committee.”

We are going to work tirelessly and see that we have racing, tour and expedition events with boda and recreation bicycle riding.”

“We are also planning to organise the inter kingdom competitions, Kabaka birthday and coronation events, tour of Buganda Kingdom, championship of Buganda, to build the game of cycling in Buganda and Uganda.”

The outgoing chairperson Ssekibenga expects the newly appointed committee to take the game forward.

“I have served my part and I take this opportunity to thank the kingdom for trusting me.” I only wish the new committee all the best and I am confident that they will take the game forward.”

The new Buganda Cycling Committee:

Chairman: Mathias Lukwago

Vice Chairman (Administration): Amanda Ngabirano

Media and Public Relations: Fredrick Kalyango

Finance: Patrick Ssemambo

Publicity: Isa Kimbugwe Batayambadde

Marketing and International Relations: Steven Ntege

Technical: Frank Buyondo

Out-going committee

Hajji Ssekibenga (out-going chairperson), Robert Kakooza (competitions secretary), Henry Nsereko (general secretary), Frank Buyondo (treasurer), Isa Kimbugwe Batayambadde (media), Yusuf Mbaziira, Birungi Naira Nansubuga, Irene Debroah Nanyonjo and Charles Mulamatta.

%d bloggers like this: