MASAZA CUP: Ssingo and Buddu seal a repeat of the 2015 final


Buddu 1-0 Busujju (Agg. 2-0)
Buwekula 1-1 Ssingo (Agg. 1-3)

Ssingo and Buddu edged Buwekula and Busujju respectively to set up a final date for this year’s Masaza Cup tournament.


The two will meet in a fortnight at Namboole stadium in a repeat of the 2015 Masaza Cup final where Ssingo emerged 5-0 eventual winners.

Buddu through a Marvin Kavuma second half strike ensured a home and away 1-0 victories against Busujju to storm the final for the third time in history.

At Kasenyi grounds, rivals Buwekula and Ssingo played to a 1-1 draw with the latter progressing to the final on back to back occasions.

Ivan Bogere scored for Buwekula after Hamis Semugera had given Ssingo the lead.

Bogere together with Ssingo’s Jude Semugabi are now the joint top scorers of the tournament with 8 goals each.

Ssingo will play Buddu on Saturday 27th October to determine this year’s winners while Buwekula and Busujju will tussle it out for the third place.

The Masaza Cup has brought to light a number of footballing talents such as Robert Odongkara, Isaac Muleme, Joseph Ochaya, Farouk Miya, Emma Okwi, Edrisa Lubega, Francis Olaki, Yasser Mugerwa, Yunus Sentamu, Mike Serumaga, Diego Hamis Kiiza, Godfrey Walusimbi and Halid Lwaliwa among others.

Previous Winners
2004 – Gomba
2005 – Mawokota
2006 – Kkooki
2007 – Mawokota
2008 – Kyaddondo
2009 – Gomba
2010 – Not held
2011 – Buluuli
2012 – Bulemeezi
2013 – Mawokota
2014 – Gomba
2015 – Ssingo
2016 – Buddu
2017 – Gomba
2018 – …….

%d bloggers like this: