A comprehensive overview of the 2017/2018 Azam Uganda premier league statistics

By: Sinan Rajub Senoga

The just concluded Uganda premier league season of 2017/18 has been one of the most contested titles in the recent history of Ugandan football.

The champion wasn’t decided until the final day and intriguingly, no team was confirmed relegated until the final day.

Courtesy of our stats center that has been dedicated to bring you all the relevant data you need concerning the league. We have managed to come up with a comprehensive report that covers all the numbers that transpired through out the season.

From Jimmy Kakooza’s opening day red card against Vipers SC at Mwererwe to Julius Kisambira’s final day red card still against the champions. It’s of no coincidence that Vipers received the highest number of penalties.

Sulaiman Majanjaalo received the most red cards in the season

Most Wins : 19 – Vipers SC

Fewest Wins : 5 – Masavu FC

Highest Number of draws : 19 – Maroons FC

Fewest Draws : 6 – BUL FC and Police FC

Most defeats : 16 – Proline FC

Least number of defeats : 3 – KCCA FC and Vipers SC

Highest number of goals scored : 54 – KCCA FC

KCCA FC scored the highest number of goals

Least number of goals scored : 17 – Mbarara City

Fewest goals conceded : 12 – SC Villa

Highest number of goals conceded : 38 – Masavu FC and UPDF FC

Top scorer : 17 goals – Daniel Muzeyi Serunkuma (Vipers)

Dan Serunkuuma scored the most goals 6 for Express FC and 11 for Vipers SC

Highest number of assists – 13 by Mustafa Kizza of KCCA FC

Total number of games played : 239 (minus Masavu vs Police)

Most clean sheets : 19 – Onduparaka FC

Fewest number of clean sheets : 6 – Masavu FC

Abraham Ndugwa’s Masavu registered the least number of clean sheets

Total number of goals scored : 440

Most home wins : 12 – KCCA FC, Vipers SC and SC Villa

KCCA FC is the only club to have finished the season unbeaten at home

Most home losses : 8 – Proline FC

Most home draws : 10 – Maroons FC

Highest number of goals scored at home : 34 – KCCA FC and Vipers SC

Maroons drew a record 19 times

Most away wins : 7 – Vipers SC

Most away draws : 9 – Maroons FC

Most away loses : 11 – UPDF FC

Highest number of goals scored away from home : 20 – KCCA FC

Mbarara City is the only club to finish the season without a win away from home

Number of hat tricks in the season : 3
Shaban Muhammad (Soana 0-4 KCCA)
Shaban Muhammad (KCCA 7-2 URA)
Daniel Muzeyi Serunkuma (Vipers 5-0 Express)

Shaban Muhammad was the first player to register a hat trick this term

Highest scoring match : KCCA FC 7-2 URA FC

Highest score margin : KCCA FC 6-0 Masavu FC

SC Villa’s Vitalis Tabu scored the first goal of the season against Soana FC

Longest winning streak : 6 wins by SC Villa between 15th November and 20th December 2017

Longest unbeaten run : 17 games by Vipers SC between 20th December 2017 and 25th May 2018

The champions have enjoyed the longest unbeaten period

Most sacked coach – Ibrahim Kirya at URA FC and Mbarara City

Team with most number of coaches – Mbarara City (4) Richard Makumbi, Vialli Bainomugisha, Sam Kawalya and Ibrahim Kirya

A total of 15 Red Cards were given out.

KCCA FC, Express FC, SC Villa, Vipers SC and Soana FC are the only teams not to have received a red card throughout the season.

Mbarara city had more coaches than any other team

Sulaiman Majanjalo of UPDF FC was the most red carded player in the season. He got two red cards

Other players sent off include; Moses Kiggundu and Philly Lutaaya (Masavu FC), Julius Kisambira (UPDF FC), Patrick Sembuya and Douglas Owori (BUL FC), Felix Okot (Maroons FC), Ibrahim Orit (Mbarara City), Joel Madondo (Kirinya Jinja SS), Ibrahim Kibumba (Police FC), Ceaser Okhuti (Onduparaka FC), Alionzi Nafian (URA FC), Savio Kabugo (Proline FC), Jimmy Kakooza (Bright Stars)

UPDF FC received the highest number of red cards – 3

Number of own goals scored – 4

Number of penalty kicks awarded – 55

12 were missed and 43 were converted

Vipers SC got the highest number of penalties awarded – 7

URA FC is the only team which didn’t get a penalty throughout the season

UPDF FC received the most red cards

Vipers SC and Mbarara City registered the highest number of penalties scored – 6

Mbarara City’s Emmanuel Ibe Obinna scored the highest number of penalties – 6

Bright Stars is the only team which didn’t concede a goal from a penalty kick

Daniel Serunkuuma registered the highest number of penalty misses – 2

Goalkeepers Joel Mutakubwa (Soana FC) and Benson Wagima (Bright Stars) recorded the highest number of penalty saves – 2

Kirinya Jinja SS and URA FC conceded the highest number of penalties – 5

%d bloggers like this: